Many of the tracks on Obsession, the new album from Carry The Torch, were originally written in 2009/2010. Over the next few years, Philip (guitars) honed these raw gems into more coherent and melodic structures which form the base of the albums sound.

Philip (vocals) brought in Dennis to contribute towards lyrics and melody and together they continued to rewrite and rearrange the songs. Some songs were kept in their original form (Bow Down, Awakening), others were torn apart, rebuilt, rearranged and so on. For example, the track New Hell contains just one original riff from the old version, the rest was written in 2016. Most of the songs were made in a similar way, however, they did spend more time of arrangements, melodies and hooks this time to create the very best they were able to make which in their own opinion they achieved.

All guitars were recorded in his home studio by Philip. He also programmed all the drums for this particular release (Björn joined after the record already recorded and the bass was done by the groups old friend, Håkan Johansson.

Lyrically, the theme of the album became ‘fire’. In some songs this can be represented in a few words and in others such as The Scorching and Flame Of A 1000 Suns, the whole thing is based on the concept of fire rising from the ashes and also with some apocalyptic feelings to it.

The vocals were recorded at a studio in Mörbylånga, Öland, close to where Dennis was born, which made him feel at home and had a great deal of impact on the way everything came out. Carry The Torch are very proud of their efforts on Obsession have never been this excited to unleash their new album to an unsuspecting world.

Keep the flame burning and enjoy!

Obsession | Released July 2nd, 2019 on Sliptrick Records

Track Listing:
01. Obsession | 02. Bow Down | 03. A New Hell | 04. Die Standing | 05. Awakening | 06. The Scorching | 07. Flame Of A 1000 Suns | 08. Black Dog | 09. All Or Nothing | 10. Blackened Screams

Artwork by Amanda Louli | Produced by Philip Nilsson | Mixed by Philip Nilsson | Mastered by Magnus “Mankan” Sedenberg | All music by Philip Nilsson | All lyrics by Dennis Johansson

Carry The Torch are:
Dennis Johansson – Vocals | Philip Nilsson – Guitar | Victor Wahlstedt – Guitar | Björn Lindgren – Drums

Band links: Facebook | Youtube | Instagram | On Sliptrick

Seguici su